Writing and Rhetoric Department:College of Arts and Humanities

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Stephanie Vie
Stephanie Vie
Department Chair
Professor
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Social media and social networking theory; Social media and pedagogy; Critical technological literacies; Video and computer games; Multimodal composition; Plagiarism detection technologies and writing assessment; Professional and technical communication

Laurie A. Pinkert
Laurie A. Pinkert
Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs
Laurie.Pinkert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing program design, administration, and development; Writing within and across disciplines; Graduate writing practices and infrastructures ; Service-learning and engagement pedagogies ; Writing teacher education and mentoring; Disciplinarity in Rhetoric, Composition, and Writing Studies

Angela R. Rounsaville
Angela R. Rounsaville
Associate Professor
Director of First-Year Composition
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy; Literacy Studies; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Transfer; Research Methods in Rhetoric and Composition

R. Mark Hall
R. Mark Hall
Professor
Program Director of University Writing Center
RMarkHall@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing center theory and practice; Tutor education and professional development; Literacy practices in popular culture; Writing pedagogy

Faculty

Garrett Arban
Instructor
Garrett.Arban@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy; digital activism; digital rhetorics

Amy J Barnickel
Amy J Barnickel
Lecturer
Amy.Barnickel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Art-making and writing, Gender, feminism, writing, cultural studies, caribbean literature, women's studies, theatre and musical theatre

Melody Bowdon
Melody Bowdon
Professor
melody.bowdon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Service-Learning and Higher Education; Distance-Learning

Martha Catherine Brenckle
Martha Catherine Brenckle
Professor
Martha.Brenckle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Queer Theory and FYW; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information Literacy and Undergraduate Research; Assessment ; Fiction; Poetry

Matthew Bryan
Matthew Bryan
Associate Lecturer
Matthew.Bryan@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Theory and Pedagogy; Student Publications; Nonfiction Studies; Writing Assessment; Online Writing Instruction

Stuart Dees
Stuart Dees
Instructor
Stuart.Dees@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy and textual studies; Writing pedagogy; Basic writing; First-year composition; Rhetorical theory; Ecocriticism; Multimodal composition; Structuralism, semiotics, and post-structuralism

Brandy Dieterle
Brandy Dieterle
Lecturer
brandy.dieterle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: gender and identity studies; queer and digital rhetorics; multimodal and new media composing

Dustin W. Edwards
Dustin W. Edwards
Assistant Professor
Dustin.Edwards@ucf.edu

Research Interests: digital rhetorics; circulation studies ; the politics of writing infrastructures, especially social media platforms; public rhetorics and writing ; intellectual property/authorship studies; affect theory and new materialisms

Joy Helmick Ford
Adjunct
Joy.Ford@ucf.edu

Research Interests: First-year composition, service learning, learning through the metaphor of game, a living wage and support for all those who teach and help students learn

Marcy L Galbreath
Marcy L Galbreath
Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor
marcy.galbreath@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Research into environmental and agricultural rhetoric; the role of digital humanities in sustainability discourse; and the role of language, texts, and digital technologies in constructing human-nature relationships.

Steffen Guenzel
Steffen Guenzel
Associate Lecturer
Steffen.Guenzel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Center Theory and Practice; Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class; Critical theory 

Luann Henken
Luann Henken
Instructor
Department Scheduler
lhenken@ucf.edu
Barbara Rau Kyle
Barbara Rau Kyle
Adjunct
barbara.kyle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition and writing center theory; Information literacy and new media; English as a second language

Megan Lambert
Megan Lambert
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Megan.Lambert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy; writing center research; curriculum development

Eugene Scott Launier
Eugene Scott Launier
Associate Instructor
eugene.launier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Assessment; Student Peer Assessment; Increasing Student Engagement

Joseph D Longhany
Instructor
Joseph.Longhany@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy development for adolescents and young adults; digital communication; online writing spaces

Paul Dan Martin
Paul Dan Martin
Associate Instructor
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
paul.martin@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Studies, Composition Theory, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing and Technology

Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Melissa.Pompos@ucf.edu

Research Interests: service-learning and higher education; place-based education; composition theory and pedagogy; portfolio assessment; faculty development; feminist theory and pedagogy.

Emily Proulx
Visiting Instructor
Emily.Proulx@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Online writing, learning in digital spaces, composition pedagogy, literacy, digital rhetoric, rhetoric and civic engagement 

Adele Richardson
Adele Richardson
Associate Instructor
Undergraduate Advisor
adele@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Studies; Writing Assessment; Editing/Grammar; Curriculum Development; Online Teaching

Kevin Roozen
Kevin Roozen
Professor
Kevin.Roozen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literate development throughout the lifespan; Longitudinal studies of literacy and learning; Writing for multiple contexts; Cultural-historical activity theory; Sociohistoric perspectives of literacy and learning; Genre as rhetorical action; Basic writing; Qualitative research methods; Writing pedagogy; Writing program administration

Blake Scott
Blake Scott
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of Health & Medicine; Rhetorical History, Theory, & Techne; Professional & Technical Communication; Writing Theory & Pedagogy; Writing Program Development

Mary L. Tripp
Mary L. Tripp
Adjunct
Mary.Tripp@ucf.edu

Research Interests: My research interests include writing pedagogy, self-efficacy and agency for writing, digital writing practices, theory and practice of tutoring writing, and research methods for writing studies.

Debbie Weaver
Debbie Weaver
Assistant Director of University Writing Center
Associate Lecturer
Deborah.Weaver@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Working with Tutors in Writing Center, Composition Theory, and Imprint, a UCF student publication.

Stephanie K Wheeler
Assistant Professor
Stephanie.Wheeler@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Cultural Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Rhetoric of Eugenics; Rhetoric of Pop Culture, particularly Harry Potter and Lady Gaga

J. Thomas Wright
J. Thomas Wright
Lecturer
Thomas.Wright@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of science, especially evolutionary biology; classical rhetoric; medical discourse; online rhetoric; rhetoric and civic engagement; history of science.

Staff

Mariana Chao
Mariana Chao
Academic Support Services Coordinator
mchao@ucf.edu
Department of Writing and Rhetoric • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Campus Location: Trevor Colbourn Hall (TCH - Building 123) Room 165A
Phone: 407-823-2295 Fax: 407-823-1287 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@mail.ucf.edu