Writing and Rhetoric Department:College of Arts and Humanities

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Stephanie Vie
Stephanie Vie
Department Chair
Professor
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Social media and social networking theory; Social media and pedagogy; Critical technological literacies; Video and computer games; Multimodal composition; Plagiarism detection technologies and writing assessment; Professional and technical communication

Dustin W. Edwards
Dustin W. Edwards
Assistant Professor
Director of Graduate Programs
Dustin.Edwards@ucf.edu

Research Interests: digital and material rhetorics; circulation studies ; professional writing; public rhetorics and writing ; environmental rhetoric; infrastructure 

Laurie A. Pinkert
Laurie A. Pinkert
Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs
Laurie.Pinkert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing program design, administration, and development; Writing within and across disciplines; Graduate writing practices and infrastructures ; Service-learning and engagement pedagogies ; Writing teacher education and mentoring; Disciplinarity in Rhetoric, Composition, and Writing Studies

Angela R. Rounsaville
Angela R. Rounsaville
Associate Professor
Associate Department Chair
Director of First-Year Composition
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy; Literacy Studies; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Transfer; Research Methods in Rhetoric and Composition

R. Mark Hall
R. Mark Hall
Professor
Program Director of University Writing Center
RMarkHall@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing center theory and practice; Tutor education and professional development; Literacy practices in popular culture; Writing pedagogy

Faculty

Garrett Arban
Instructor
Garrett.Arban@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy; digital activism; digital rhetorics

Pamela Baker
Pamela Baker
Lecturer
Pamela.Baker@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Theory and Pedagogy; Nonfiction Studies; Science & Nature Writing

Amy J Barnickel
Amy J Barnickel
Lecturer
Amy.Barnickel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Art-making and writing, Gender, feminism, writing, cultural studies, caribbean literature, women's studies, theatre and musical theatre

Melody Bowdon
Melody Bowdon
Professor
melody.bowdon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Service-Learning and Higher Education; Distance-Learning

Martha Catherine Brenckle
Martha Catherine Brenckle
Professor
Martha.Brenckle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Queer Theory and FYW; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information Literacy and Undergraduate Research; Assessment ; Fiction; Poetry

Matthew Bryan
Matthew Bryan
Associate Lecturer
Matthew.Bryan@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Theory and Pedagogy; Student Publications; Nonfiction Studies; Writing Assessment; Online Writing Instruction

Stuart Dees
Stuart Dees
Instructor
Stuart.Dees@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy and textual studies; Writing pedagogy; Basic writing; First-year composition; Rhetorical theory; Ecocriticism; Multimodal composition; Structuralism, semiotics, and post-structuralism

Brandy Dieterle
Brandy Dieterle
Lecturer
brandy.dieterle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: gender and identity studies; queer and digital rhetorics; multimodal and new media composing

Meeghan Faulconer
Visiting Instructor
Visiting Instructor
Meeghan.Faulconer@ucf.edu
Joy Helmick Ford
Adjunct
Joy.Ford@ucf.edu

Research Interests: First-year composition, service learning, learning through the metaphor of game, a living wage and support for all those who teach and help students learn

Marcy L Galbreath
Marcy L Galbreath
Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor
marcy.galbreath@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Environmental and agricultural rhetoric, including food discourses and nature writing; rhetorical genre theory; and digital humanities and archival research.

Steffen Guenzel
Steffen Guenzel
Associate Lecturer
Steffen.Guenzel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Center Theory and Practice; Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class; Critical theory 

Luann Henken
Luann Henken
Instructor
Department Scheduler
lhenken@ucf.edu
Jamila Kareem
Jamila Kareem
Assistant Professor
Jamila.Kareem@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Critical race theory and writing contexts; Composition studies; Cultural rhetorics; Student identities, literacy and identity, and rhetoric and identity; Linguistic diversity and writing; Rhetorical literacies; Writing across difference; Cosmopolitan Englishes

Ian Kay
Ian Kay
Visiting Lecturer
Visiting Lecturer
Ian.Kay@ucf.edu
Julie Kopp
Adjunct
Visiting Instructor
julie.kopp@ucf.edu
Barbara Rau Kyle
Barbara Rau Kyle
Adjunct
barbara.kyle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition and writing center theory; Information literacy and new media; English as a second language

Megan Lambert
Megan Lambert
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Megan.Lambert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy; writing center research; curriculum development

Eugene Scott Launier
Eugene Scott Launier
Associate Instructor
eugene.launier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Assessment; Student Peer Assessment; Increasing Student Engagement

Joseph D Longhany
Instructor
Joseph.Longhany@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy development for adolescents and young adults; digital communication; online writing spaces

Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Melissa.Pompos@ucf.edu

Research Interests: service-learning and higher education; place-based education; composition theory and pedagogy; portfolio assessment; faculty development; feminist theory and pedagogy.

Emily Proulx
Visiting Instructor
Emily.Proulx@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Online writing, learning in digital spaces, composition pedagogy, literacy, digital rhetoric, rhetoric and civic engagement 

Adele Richardson
Adele Richardson
Associate Instructor
Undergraduate Advisor
adele@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Studies; Writing Assessment; Editing/Grammar; Curriculum Development; Online Teaching

Melissa Ringfield
Melissa Ringfield
Instructor
Melissa.Ringfield@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Identity and ideology in first-year composition; critical discourse analysis; civic rhetoric and rhetorics of social justice

Kevin Roozen
Kevin Roozen
Professor
Kevin.Roozen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literate development throughout the lifespan; Longitudinal studies of literacy and learning; Writing for multiple contexts; Cultural-historical activity theory; Sociohistoric perspectives of literacy and learning; Genre as rhetorical action; Basic writing; Qualitative research methods; Writing pedagogy; Writing program administration

Joel Schneier
Joel Schneier
Instructor
Joel.Schneier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Mobile communication and interfacing, process-based methods for writing research, language variation and change, mediatization.

Blake Scott
Blake Scott
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of Health & Medicine; Rhetorical History, Theory, & Techne; Professional & Technical Communication; Writing Theory & Pedagogy; Writing Program Development

Mary L. Tripp
Mary L. Tripp
Adjunct
Mary.Tripp@ucf.edu

Research Interests: My research interests include writing pedagogy, self-efficacy and agency for writing, digital writing practices, theory and practice of tutoring writing, and research methods for writing studies.

Heather Vazquez
Visiting Lecturer
Visiting Lecturer
Heather.Vazquez@ucf.edu
Debbie Weaver
Debbie Weaver
Assistant Director of University Writing Center
Associate Lecturer
Deborah.Weaver@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Working with Tutors in Writing Center, Composition Theory, and Imprint, a UCF student publication.

Stephanie K Wheeler
Assistant Professor
Stephanie.Wheeler@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Cultural Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Rhetoric of Eugenics; Rhetoric of Pop Culture, particularly Harry Potter and Lady Gaga

J. Thomas Wright
J. Thomas Wright
Lecturer
Thomas.Wright@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of science, especially evolutionary biology; classical rhetoric; medical discourse; online rhetoric; rhetoric and civic engagement; history of science.

Staff

Mariana Chao
Mariana Chao
Administrative Coordinator II
mchao@ucf.edu
Department of Writing and Rhetoric • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Campus Location: Trevor Colbourn Hall (TCH - Building 123) Room 165A
Phone: 407-823-2295 Fax: 407-823-1287 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@mail.ucf.edu