Writing and Rhetoric Department:College of Arts and Humanities

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Stephanie Vie
Stephanie Vie
Associate Professor
Department Chair
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composing in social media, particularly social networks; Critical technological literacy; Computer games and pedagogy; Multimodal composition; Plagiarism detection technologies and writing assessment; Professional and technical communication

Martha Brenckle
Martha Brenckle
Director of Graduate Programs
Professor
Martha.Brenckle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Queer Theory and FYW; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information Literacy and Undergraduate Research; Assessment ; Fiction; Poetry

Laurie A. Pinkert
Laurie A. Pinkert
Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs
Laurie.Pinkert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: writing program design, administration, and development; writing teacher education and mentoring ; graduate writing practices and infrastructures ; service-learning pedagogy and civic engagement ; writing within and across disciplines 

Kevin Roozen
Kevin Roozen
Associate Professor
Director of First-Year Composition
Kevin.Roozen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literate development throughout the lifespan; Longitudinal studies of literacy and learning; Writing for multiple contexts; Cultural-historical activity theory; Sociohistoric perspectives of literacy and learning; Genre as rhetorical action; Basic writing; Qualitative research methods; Writing pedagogy; Writing program administration

R. Mark Hall
R. Mark Hall
Associate Professor
Program Director of University Writing Center
RMarkHall@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing center theory and practice; Tutor education and professional development; Literacy practices in popular culture; Writing pedagogy

Pavel Zemliansky
Pavel Zemliansky
Professor
Program Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
pavel.zemliansky@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Professional communication, especially in international contexts; writing across the curriculum and writing in the disciplines; connections between professional communication theory and WAC/WID; new media in professional communication

Faculty

Amy J Barnickel
Amy J Barnickel
Lecturer
Amy.Barnickel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Art-making and writing, Gender, feminism, writing, cultural studies, caribbean literature, women's studies, theatre and musical theatre

Melody Bowdon
Melody Bowdon
Professor
melody.bowdon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Service-Learning and Higher Education; Distance-Learning

Matthew Bryan
Matthew Bryan
Associate Lecturer
Composition Coordinator
Matthew.Bryan@ucf.edu
Dustin Edwards
Dustin Edwards
Assistant Professor
Dustin.Edwards@ucf.edu

Research Interests: digital rhetorics; public writing and circulation; the politics of writing infrastructures, especially social media platforms; intellectual property/authorship studies; professional writing pedagogy; affect theory and new materialisms

Marcy L Galbreath
Marcy L Galbreath
Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor
marcy.galbreath@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Research into environmental and agricultural rhetoric; the role of digital humanities in sustainability discourse; and the role of language, texts, and digital technologies in constructing human-nature relationships.

Steffen Guenzel
Steffen Guenzel
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
Lecturer
Steffen.Guenzel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Center Theory and Practice; Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class; Critical theory: Fiction and Non-fiction

Natasha N. Jones
Natasha N. Jones
Assistant Professor
Natasha.Jones@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Technical and professional communication; narrative; social justice and activism in technical and professional communication; technical communication pedagogy for engineers; inclusive design

Barbara Rau Kyle
Barbara Rau Kyle
Instructor
barbara.kyle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition and writing center theory; Information literacy and new media; English as a second language

Megan Lambert
Megan Lambert
Instructor
Megan.Lambert@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory and pedagogy; writing center research; curriculum development

Eugene Scott Launier
Eugene Scott Launier
Associate Lecturer
eugene.launier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Assessment; Student Peer Assessment; Increasing Student Engagement

Joseph D Longhany
Adjunct
Joseph.Longhany@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy development for adolescents and young adults; digital communication; online writing spaces

Paul Dan Martin
Paul Dan Martin
Associate Instructor
paul.martin@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Studies, Composition Theory, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing and Technology

Lindee Owens
Lindee Owens
Associate Instructor
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
lindee.owens@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Grammar, Argument, Writing to Learn

Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Melissa Pompos Mansfield
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Melissa.Pompos@ucf.edu

Research Interests: service-learning and higher education; place-based education; composition theory and pedagogy; faculty development; feminist theory and pedagogy; active learning classrooms

Adele Richardson
Adele Richardson
Associate Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor
adele@ucf.edu
Angela R. Rounsaville
Angela R. Rounsaville
Assistant Professor
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy; Literacy Studies; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Transfer; Research Methods in Rhetoric and Composition

Blake Scott
Blake Scott
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetorics of Health and Medicine; Rhetorical History and Theory, including Rhetoric as Civic Engagement; Theory and Teaching of Composition; Professional and Technical Communication

A. Nichole Stack
A. Nichole Stack
Instructor
Global Achievement Academy Liaison
Nichole.Stack@ucf.edu
Mary L. Tripp
Mary L. Tripp
Lecturer
Assistant Director of University Writing Center
Mary.Tripp@ucf.edu

Research Interests: My research interests include writing pedagogy, self-efficacy and agency for writing, digital writing practices, theory and practice of tutoring writing, and research methods for writing studies.

Debbie Weaver
Debbie Weaver
Associate Lecturer
Department Scheduler
Deborah.Weaver@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition theory, Argumentative writing, Learning to publish non-fiction writing. 

Stephanie K Wheeler
Assistant Professor
Stephanie.Wheeler@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Cultural Rhetorics; Disability Studies; Holocaust Studies; Rhetoric of Eugenics

J. Thomas Wright
J. Thomas Wright
Lecturer
Thomas.Wright@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of science, especially evolutionary biology; classical rhetoric; medical discourse; online rhetoric; rhetoric and civic engagement; history of science.

Staff

Mariana Chao
Mariana Chao
Academic Support Services Coordinator
Mariana.Chao@ucf.edu
Adam Salazar
Adam Salazar
Administrative Services Coordinator
Adam.Salazar@ucf.edu
Department of Writing and Rhetoric • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Campus Location: Colbourn Hall (Building 18) Room 301
Phone: 407-823-2295 Fax: 407-823-1287 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@mail.ucf.edu