Writing and Rhetoric Department:College of Arts and Humanities

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Elizabeth Wardle
Elizabeth Wardle
Department Chair
Professor
Elizabeth.Wardle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Scholarship of Writing Program Administration; First-year composition as Writing Studies; Disciplinarity of Writing Studies; Genre theory; Activity theory; Transfer of writing-related knowledge

Kevin Roozen
Associate Professor
Director of First-Year Composition
Kevin.Roozen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: literate development throughout the lifespan; longitudinal ethnographic studies of literate activity,; writing for multiple contexts,; sociohistoric perspectives of literacy and learning,; basic writing,; qualitative research methods,; writing pedagogy, and; writing program administration.

Blake Scott
Blake Scott
Director of Writing and Rhetoric Degree Programs
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetorics of Health and Medicine; Rhetorical History and Theory, including Rhetoric as Civic Engagement; Theory and Teaching of Composition; Professional and Technical Communication

R. Mark Hall
R. Mark Hall
Associate Professor
Program Director of University Writing Center
RMarkHall@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing center theory and practice; Tutor education and professional development; Literacy practices in popular culture; Writing pedagogy

Pavel Zemliansky
Pavel Zemliansky
Associate Professor
Program Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
pzemliansky@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Professional communication, especially in international contexts; writing across the curriculum and writing in the disciplines; connections between professional communication theory and WAC/WID; new media in professional communication;

Faculty

Amy Barnickel
Amy Barnickel
Instructor
Amy.Barnickel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Art-making and writing, Gender, feminism, writing, cultural studies, caribbean literature, women's studies

Kathleen Bell
Associate Professor
Program Director of Professional Writing Certificate
Kathleen.Bell@ucf.edu
Melody Bowdon
Melody Bowdon
Professor
mbowdon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Service-Learning and Higher Education; Distance-Learning

Matthew Bryan
Matthew Bryan
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Matthew.Bryan@ucf.edu
Marcy Galbreath
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Instructor
marcy.galbreath@knights.ucf.edu
Mary Ellen Gomrad
Mary Ellen Gomrad
Instructor
mgomrad@mail.ucf.edu

Research Interests: Technical and Professional Communication; Service-Learning; Visual Rhetoric; Technology and Writing; Gender Studies; Cross-Cultural Communication

Steffen Guenzel
Steffen Guenzel
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
Instructor
Steffen.Guenzel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Center Theory and Practice; Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class; Critical theory: Fiction and Non-fiction

Barbara Rau Kyle
Barbara Rau Kyle
Instructor
barbara.kyle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition and writing center theory; Information literacy and new media

Eugene Scott Launier
Eugene Scott Launier
Instructor
eugene.launier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Assessment; Student Peer Assessment; Increasing Student Engagement

Joseph D Longhany
Staff member
Visiting Instructor
Joseph.Longhany@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy development for adolescents and young adults; digital communication; online writing spaces

Martha Marinara
Martha Marinara
Associate Professor
Martha.Marinara@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Queer Theory and Composition; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information and Undergraduate Research; Fiction; Poetry

Paul Dan Martin
Paul Dan Martin
Instructor
paul.martin@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Studies, Composition Theory, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing and Technology

Lindee Owens
Lindee Owens
Associate Instructor
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
lowens@mail.ucf.edu
Stacey Pigg
Stacey Pigg
Assistant Professor
Stacey.Pigg@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetorical Theory; Computers and Writing; Professional Communication

Adele Richardson
Adele Richardson
Instructor
Undergraduate Advisor
adele@ucf.edu
Gabriela Raquel Rios
Gabriela Raquel Rios
Assistant Professor
Gabriela.Rios@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Indigenous (Chican@/Latin@) Rhetorics; Biocultural Diversity Studies; Materiality and Thing Theory; Embodied Rhetorics; Rhetoric and Civic Engagement

Angela Rounsaville
Angela Rounsaville
Assistant Professor
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy, Writing, and Rhetoric; Literacy Studies; Composition History, Theory, and Pedagogy; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Language and Power; Transfer

Catherine Schutz
Catherine Schutz
Instructor
schutz@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing for specific rhetorical situations; writing research strategies

A. Nichole Stack
A. Nichole Stack
Instructor
Nichole.Stack@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Intercultural rhetoric; Digital literacy; Metacognition; Transformative learning

Stephanie Vie
Stephanie Vie
Associate Professor
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composing in social media, particularly social networks; Technological fluency and literacy; Computer games and pedagogy; Multimodal composition; Plagiarism detection technologies and writing assessment; Professional and technical communication

Douglas M. Walls
Douglas M. Walls
Assistant Professor
Douglas.Walls@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Access; 21st century literacies; Intersections of digital and cultural rhetorics; Research design & methodology; Digital Humanities pedagogy 

Debbie Weaver
Associate Lecturer
Department Scheduler
Deborah.Weaver@ucf.edu
Thomas Wright
Instructor
Thomas.Wright@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of science, especially evolutionary biology; classical rhetoric; medical discourse; online rhetoric; rhetoric and civic engagement; history of science.

Affiliated Faculty

J.D. Applen
Associate Professor
jd.applen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Classical and Contemporary Rhetoric; Technical Communication for students across UCF in all majors; Hypertext and Writing for the Web; XML and Digital Archiving; Literature of Science and Technology; The Discourse of Science

Thomas B Cavanagh
Thomas B Cavanagh
Adjunct
cavanagh@ucf.edu

Research Interests: E-learning; technical communication; technological literacy; and the societal influence of technology on education training, culture, and commerce

Paul M. Dombrowski
Paul M. Dombrowski
Professor
pdombrow@mail.ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric theory, history, and practice, classical to contemporary; Texts and Technology, rhetorical and ethical aspects, and statistics and research design; technical communication, especially rhetorical and ethical aspects; discourse about rhetoric studies.

Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés
Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés
Associate Professor
cecilia.milanes@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Latino/a Literature, writing, women writers of color, Emergent American Literature and women's studies.

Staff

Emily Brennan
Staff member of First-Year Composition
emily.brennan@knights.ucf.edu
Mariana Chao
Mariana Chao
Academic Support Services Coordinator
mchao@ucf.edu
John Chrisman
Staff member of First-Year Composition
johndchrisman@knights.ucf.edu
Yumani Davis
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Composition Studies
yumanidavis@knights.ucf.edu
Brandy Dieterle
Staff member of First-Year Composition
brandy.dieterle@knights.ucf.edu
Allison Morrow
Staff member of First-Year Composition
alleymb@knights.ucf.edu
Jennifer Murray
Staff member of First-Year Composition
jenniferamurray@knights.ucf.edu
Allison Pinkerton
Staff member of First-Year Composition
allisonpinkerton@knights.ucf.edu
Brett Schwartz
Graduate Teaching Assistant of First-Year Composition
Brett.Schwartz@ucf.edu
Department of Writing and Rhetoric • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2295 Fax: 407-823-1287 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@mail.ucf.edu