Writing and Rhetoric Department:College of Arts and Humanities

Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty

Elizabeth Wardle
Elizabeth Wardle
Department Chair
Professor
Elizabeth.Wardle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transfer of writing-related knowledge; Scholarship of writing program administration; First-year composition as Writing Studies; Disciplinarity of Writing Studies; Genre theory; Activity theory

Kevin Roozen
Kevin Roozen
Associate Professor
Director of First-Year Composition
Kevin.Roozen@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literate development throughout the lifespan; Longitudinal studies of literate activity; Writing for multiple contexts; Cultural-historical activity theory; Sociohistoric perspectives of literacy and learning; Basic writing; Qualitative research methods; Writing pedagogy; Writing program administration

Blake Scott
Blake Scott
Director of Writing and Rhetoric Degree Programs
Professor
bscott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetorics of Health and Medicine; Rhetorical History and Theory, including Rhetoric as Civic Engagement; Theory and Teaching of Composition; Professional and Technical Communication

R. Mark Hall
R. Mark Hall
Associate Professor
Program Director of University Writing Center
RMarkHall@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing center theory and practice; Tutor education and professional development; Literacy practices in popular culture; Writing pedagogy

Pavel Zemliansky
Pavel Zemliansky
Associate Professor
Program Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
pzemliansky@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Professional communication, especially in international contexts; writing across the curriculum and writing in the disciplines; connections between professional communication theory and WAC/WID; new media in professional communication;

Faculty

Amy J Barnickel
Amy J Barnickel
Instructor
Amy.Barnickel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Art-making and writing, Gender, feminism, writing, cultural studies, caribbean literature, women's studies

Kathleen Bell
Associate Professor
Program Director of Professional Writing Certificate
Kathleen.Bell@ucf.edu
Melody Bowdon
Melody Bowdon
Professor
mbowdon@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Faculty Development; Technical and Professional Communication; Gender and Technology; Service-Learning and Higher Education; Distance-Learning

Matthew Bryan
Matthew Bryan
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Matthew.Bryan@ucf.edu
Thomas B Cavanagh
Thomas B Cavanagh
Adjunct
cavanagh@ucf.edu

Research Interests: E-learning; technical communication; technological literacy; and the societal influence of technology on education training, culture, and commerce

Mary Ellen Gomrad
Mary Ellen Gomrad
Instructor
mgomrad@mail.ucf.edu

Research Interests: Technical and Professional Communication; Service-Learning; Visual Rhetoric; Technology and Writing; Gender Studies; Cross-Cultural Communication

Steffen Guenzel
Steffen Guenzel
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
Instructor
Steffen.Guenzel@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Across the Curriculum; Writing Center Theory and Practice; Intersections of Gender, Race, and Class; Critical theory: Fiction and Non-fiction

Barbara Rau Kyle
Barbara Rau Kyle
Instructor
barbara.kyle@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition and writing center theory; Information literacy and new media

Eugene Scott Launier
Eugene Scott Launier
Instructor
eugene.launier@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composition Assessment; Student Peer Assessment; Increasing Student Engagement

Joseph D Longhany
Adjunct
Joseph.Longhany@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Literacy development for adolescents and young adults; digital communication; online writing spaces

Martha Marinara
Martha Marinara
Associate Professor
Martha.Marinara@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Queer Theory and FYW; Gender Studies and Feminist Theories; SOTL in Information Literacy and Undergraduate Research; Assessment ; Fiction; Poetry

Paul Dan Martin
Paul Dan Martin
Instructor
paul.martin@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing Studies, Composition Theory, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing and Technology

Lindee Owens
Lindee Owens
Associate Instructor
Coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum
lowens@mail.ucf.edu
Stacey Pigg
Stacey Pigg
Assistant Professor
Stacey.Pigg@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetorical Theory; Computers and Writing; Professional Communication

Adele Richardson
Adele Richardson
Instructor
Undergraduate Advisor
adele@ucf.edu
Gabriela Raquel Rios
Gabriela Raquel Rios
Assistant Professor
Gabriela.Rios@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Indigenous (Chican@/Latin@) Rhetorics; Biocultural Diversity Studies; Materiality and Thing Theory; Embodied Rhetorics; Rhetoric and Civic Engagement

Angela Rounsaville
Angela Rounsaville
Assistant Professor
Angela.Rounsaville@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Transnational/Transcultural Literacy, Writing, and Rhetoric; Literacy Studies; Composition History, Theory, and Pedagogy; Rhetorical Genre Theory; Language and Power; Transfer

Catherine Schutz
Catherine Schutz
Lecturer
schutz@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Writing for specific rhetorical situations; writing research strategies

A. Nichole Stack
A. Nichole Stack
Instructor
Composition Coordinator
Nichole.Stack@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Intercultural rhetoric; Digital literacy; Metacognition; Transformative learning

Mary Tripp
Mary Tripp
Lecturer
Assistant Director of University Writing Center
Mary.Tripp@ucf.edu
Stephanie Vie
Stephanie Vie
Associate Professor
Stephanie.Vie@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Composing in social media, particularly social networks; Technological fluency and literacy; Computer games and pedagogy; Multimodal composition; Plagiarism detection technologies and writing assessment; Professional and technical communication

Douglas M. Walls
Douglas M. Walls
Assistant Professor
Douglas.Walls@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Access; Social media; Intersections of digital and cultural rhetorics; Technical & professional communication; Social justice and UX design; Digital humanities pedagogy 

Debbie Weaver
Associate Lecturer
Department Scheduler
Deborah.Weaver@ucf.edu
Leslie Wolcott
Leslie Wolcott
Instructor
Leslie.Wolcott@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Environmental justice, social media and activism, social justice, social change, rhetoric and civic engagement

Thomas Wright
Instructor
Thomas.Wright@ucf.edu

Research Interests: Rhetoric of science, especially evolutionary biology; classical rhetoric; medical discourse; online rhetoric; rhetoric and civic engagement; history of science.

Staff

Mariana Chao
Mariana Chao
Academic Support Services Coordinator
mchao@ucf.edu
Adam Salazar
Adam Salazar
Administrative Services Coordinator
Adam.Salazar@ucf.edu
Department of Writing and Rhetoric • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2295 Fax: 407-823-1287 • Website Technical Support: cahweb@mail.ucf.edu